Exhibition

Pigeon racing heritage

A permanent exhibition space has been built in the Descheemaecker Pigeon Center to make the history of pigeon sport tangible for young and old. In the meantime, the pigeon sport's heritage has been well preserved here for more than 20 years. In 2020 the entire expo space was renovated to put the pigeon sport in the spotlight even more and to be able to receive groups of visitors better.

To further promote the pigeon sport, the current renovation has invested in a better visualisation of the museum collection. Old and newer pieces from the pigeon sport are now presented to the public in an interactive manner (in a permanent exhibition space). At the same time, a nice reception room, a pleasant meeting room and new offices were created.


-

Everything started with a dream...

Our dream is to use our many years of experience to further promote the pigeon sport and to pass on our passion to the next generations.

The pigeon sport is a modern, exciting and international sport with a long history. “With our new exhibition space we want to introduce youngsters to the pigeon sport in an interactive and more digital way. With videos we show how a pigeon chooses its route during a competition and information panels show important physical characteristics of a good pigeon. With listening horns you as a visitor can listen to the story of famous pigeons from the past. With authentic images from the old box, memories can be retrieved from for instance the Junior pigeon timer”, explains Stephan Descheemaecker. “And for the little ones, there is now also a play corner in our new reception area. You can enjoy a snack and drink here in front of the fireplace or at the bar. The pigeon sport is a family sport and we want to inspire everyone to get acquainted with it at the Descheemaecker Pigeon Center. Active in the pigeon sport or not, everyone is welcome in our expo to come and get to know the pigeon sport.”

-

Past, present and future come together in our new exhibition space : the pigeon sport, the Descheemaecker Brothers, our magazines Duifke Lacht and Pigeon Rit and the Descheemaecker Pigeon Center. We are proud that the third generation of the Descheemaecker family has invested further in the promotion of pigeon sport.

For the execution of the works we found the suitable partner in Fugzia from Leuven. They carried out the work with a team of professionals and solved all the challenges that arose en route perfectly.

The new offices were taken into service on January 2nd, 2020. Our passionate team handles your orders here, manages the Duifke Lacht / Pigeon Rit subscriptions and answers all your questions.

Did you know that you can also book a guided tour with your club, friends or family? Contact us via info@pigeoncenter.be for the possibilities or visit www.pigeoncenter.be/en/expo/visit-our-exposition



Next to a beautiful collection of pigeon clocks, all kinds of unique pieces are exhibited. Silent witnesses to the history and evolution of the pigeon as courier, soldier and racing pigeon. Furthermore, the covers and integral magazines of the predecessor of “Duifke Lacht” are nicely displayed.

In addition, visitors can get acquainted with the living room of the Janssens brothers, which is permanently set up here. Outside are the original lofts of the Janssens brothers: a real gem to visit. The collection is appreciated both at home and abroad! In December 2017, for example, the living room of the Janssens brothers was flown in to one of the largest pigeon fairs in Asia: DBA Asia in Nanjing. Thanks to careful preparation, the Asian pigeon fancier could also enjoy this unique collection!

 

Origin of the collection

The flying start of the permanent exhibition in Sint-Antonius-Zoersel happened on February 1st, 1998. The pigeon museum was officially inaugurated by Noël Descheemaecker and his sons Frans and Joseph Descheemaecker. In the past years, the collection has been continually expanded by items that have been donated.

Originally, however, the museum was located in La Garde Freinet in the south of France, about 1,200 km from Sint-Antonius-Zoersel. After all, it was in that specific French municipality that the second breeding station was established and where young pigeons from the winter breeding were brought. The underlying idea was that the growth of these youngsters would be improved by the softer climate. Frans Descheemaecker started his collection of the history of pigeon racing there and so people on holiday in the south of France could also get acquainted with the pigeon racing culture.

When it was decided to centralise the breeding of pigeons in one place, the museum was also transferred to Sint-Antonius-Zoersel. All pieces were carefully packed and shipped from France. The biggest piece was undoubtedly the French army truck, which is currently still on display.

Do you have any pigeon clocks or other props?

Your piece in the exhibition

The Descheemaecker family believes it is important that the history of pigeon racing is kept as complete as possible. Maybe you still have a prop at home that is eligible for the exhibition? You can contact us freely through publishing@pigeoncenter.be. with a description, if possible the year and a number of photos of your object. We will then contact you and make an appointment to see if the object is eligible for inclusion in our collection.

Moreover, it is possible to temporarily exhibit your piece in the exhibition space with your name attached. We will also be working with temporary exhibitions or themes in the near future. If you prefer not to separate with your piece, but would still like to share this with other pigeon fanciers, we can together check out the possibilities for a temporary exhibition.

All ELITE pigeons >

News on pigeons in your mailbox? Register!


Thank you for your registration.

When you register, you'll be added to the Descheemaecker Pigeon Center mailing list. You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the 'Unsubscribe' link in our mailings.

Exposition

L’héritage du sport colombophile

Le Descheemaecker Pigeon Center a le privilège de disposer d’un espace d’exposition pour préserver le souvenir de l’histoire du sport colombophile. Ce patrimoine est conservé ici depuis plus de 20 ans.

Afin de promouvoir davantage le sport colombophile, la rénovation actuelle a été investie dans une meilleure visualisation de la collection du musée. Des pièces anciennes et récentes du sport colombophile sont désormais présentées au public de manière interactive (dans un espace d'exposition permanente). Parallèlement, une belle salle de réception, une agréable salle de réunion et de nouveaux bureaux ont été créés.


-

Tout a commencé par un rêve…

Notre rêve de pouvoir investir nos années d'expérience en poursuivant la promotion du sport colombophile et en transmettant notre passion aux prochaines générations.

Le sport colombophile est un sport moderne, passionnant et international avec une longue histoire. « Notre nouvel espace d'exposition veut permettre aux jeunes de faire connaissance avec le sport colombophile de manière interactive et grâce au numérique. Au moyen de vidéos, nous vous montrons comment un pigeon choisit sa route pendant un concours et des panneaux d'information présentent les principales caractéristique physiques d'un bon pigeon. Des écouteurs permettent au visiteur d'écouter l'histoire de pigeons réputés du passé. Grâce à des images d'archives, nous pouvons évoquer ensemble le passé, le constateur Junior, par exemple », explique Stephan Descheemaecker. « Et pour les tout-petits, il y a désormais une aire de jeu dans notre nouvel espace d'accueil. Confortablement installés au coin du feu ou à la buvette, vous pouvez prendre ici une collation ou une boisson. Le sport colombophile est un sport familial et nous voulons inspirer à chacun d'entre vous l'envie de le découvrir au Descheemaecker Pigeon Center. Actif ou pas en sport colombophile, chacun est le bienvenu dans notre exposition, pour prendre connaissance du sport colombophile. »

-

Dans notre nouvel espace d'exposition, le passé, le présent et le futur se rejoignent. Aussi bien à propos du sport colombophile, des frères Descheemaecker, de Pigeon Rit / Duifke Lacht que du Descheemaecker Pigeon Center. Nous sommes fiers que la troisième génération de la famille Descheemaecker continue de s'investir dans le sport colombophile.

Pour l'exécution des travaux, nous avons trouvé dans Fugzia de Louvain, le partenaire approprié. L'entreprise a réalisé les travaux avec une équipe de professionnels et résolu à la perfection tous les défis qui se sont révélés en cours de route.

Le 2 janvier 2020, nos nouveaux bureaux étaient mis en service. Notre équipe motivée s'occupe ici de vos commandes, gère les abonnements de Pigeon Rit / Duifke Lacht et répond à toutes vos questions.

Saviez-vous que vous pouvez réserver ici une visite guidée avec votre société, vos amis ou en famille ? Contactez-nous via info@pigeoncenter.be pour les possibilités ou visitez www.pigeoncenter.be/fr/expo/visitez-notre-exposition



A côté d’une superbe collection de constateurs, sont exposées des pièces uniques en tous genres. Témoins silencieux de l’histoire et de l’évolution du pigeon en tant que messager, soldat et pigeon-voyageur. En outre, des couvertures et revues intégrales du prédécesseur de Pigeon Rit sont joliment exposées.

En plus, les amateurs peuvent découvrir le séjour des Frères Janssens exposé de manière permanente. A l’extérieur sont exposés les colombiers originels des Frères Janssens : une perle à visiter. La collection est appréciée dans le pays comme à l’étranger ! En décembre 2017, la salle de séjour des Frères Janssens a été aéroportée dans l’une des plus grandes bourses aux pigeons d’Asie : DBA Asia à Nankin. Grâce à une préparation minutieuse, le colombophile asiatique a pu, lui aussi, profiter de cette collection unique !

 

Naissance de la collection

Le coup d’envoi de l’exposition permanente de Sint-Antonius-Zoersel était donné le 1er février 1998. Le musée colombophile était alors officiellement inauguré par Noël Descheemaecker et ses fils Frans en Joseph Descheemaecker. Les années qui ont suivi, la collection se développait progressivement grâce à des dons de pièces.

A l’origine, le musée était installé à La Garde Freinet, dans le Midi de la France, à environ 1.200 km de Sint-Antonius-Zoersel. C’est dans cette commune de France qu’était établie autrefois la seconde station d’élevage où l’on acheminait les pigeonneaux issus de l’élevage d’hiver. L’idée sous-jacente était que la croissance de ces pigeonneaux était stimulée par la douceur du climat. Frans Descheemaecker y a initié une collection sur l’histoire du sport colombophile. Les vacanciers dans le Midi pouvaient, de cette façon, être éclairés sur la culture du sport colombophile.

Lorsque la décision fut prise de centraliser l’élevage des pigeons en un seul lieu, le musée a lui aussi été transféré à Sint-Antonius-Zoersel. Toutes les pièces étaient précautionneusement emballées et ramenées de France. La pièce la plus importante était sans conteste un camion militaire de l’armée française, qui l’on peut toujours voir.

Avez-vous encore des constateurs ou autres objets ?

Votre participation à l’exposition

La famille Descheemaecker estime important que l’histoire du sport colombophile soit conservée aussi intégralement que possible. Peut-être avez-vous encore chez vous un accessoire dont l’exposition pourrait bénéficier ? Vous pouvez prendre contact sans engagement via publishing@pigeoncenter.be avec une description, éventuellement l’année, quelques photos de l’objet. Nous prendrons contact avec vous par la suite pour un rendez-vous pour examiner si la pièce pourrait s’intégrer à la collection.

En outre, il est également possible d’exposer votre pièce temporairement dans notre espace d’exposition, avec mention de votre nom. Dans un futur proche, nous allons aussi mettre en œuvre des expositions ou thèmes temporaires. Si vous préférez ne pas encore vous séparer de votre objet, mais souhaitez le partager avec d’autres colombophiles, nous pouvons examiner ensemble les possibilités existantes pour une exposition temporaire.

Tous les pigeons ELITE >

Régulièrement des nouvelles colombophiles dans boîte mail? C’est possible!


Merci pour votre inscription.

Si vous vous inscrivez ici, vous serez ajouté à la liste de diffusion du Descheemaecker Pigeon Center.
Vous pouvez vous désabonner à tout moment. Cliquez simplement sur le lien 'désabonner' dans nos e-mails.